Welcome to FTB Forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Cobalt/ardite seem really hard to find...

6 replies to this topic

pf_moore

pf_moore

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Modpack:Direwolf20 Pack

I'm pretty new to Minecraft, and to the direwolf20 pack. I'm still pretty early game, I'm more or less following the build path from the DW20 videos so far. I've just reached the point where I'm visiting the nether looking for cobalt and ardite to make the manyullyn tools. But yesterday I spent about 2 hours mining the nether and only found one piece of cobalt and one piece of ardite. In his series, DW20 got over 25 cobalt for his tools - at my rate, that's over 50 hours solid mining :-(

Is this a normal sort of rate of discovery for nether ores, or am I just having bad luck? I've no problem if I need to mine a lot for rare ores, but honestly there's not much fun in endlessly digging tunnels through netherrack. I'm seriously tempted just to stick with alumite tools and weapons.

What sort of average rate of finding nether ores should I expect, and is there any way of improving my odds? (From what I've found in searches, it doesn't seem that there's a particular "good depth" for mining ores in the nether - they are evenly distributed).

Thanks for any help or suggestions.

Paul

PS I'll never hear "I just have to do some mining - I'll be back in a minute" in quite the same way again...

timrem

timrem

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 1275 posts
  • Modpack:Direwolf20 1.7 Pack