Jump to content

Welcome to FTB Forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Hippiecraft [WIP|pre-alpha 0.0.x]


22 replies to this topic

#1
Hippieshaman

Hippieshaman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Hippiecraft HQ
  • Modpack:FTB Unleashed

Yeah, I didn't find a better name for it, but don't worry, it will revolve around the name eventually.

So after watching a lot of java related content, I finally managed to get something going, it's no much yet, but I update the mod often, several times an hour when I first sit down with it for a long time.

As for v0.0.2_, I'm adding all the elements in different states (Shape of the element), but I haven't figured out what I should use everything for yet. My plan was that I should have at least one use for almost all the elements (Smelting/Combining excluded).

And for those who think I'm biting over way more than I can handle; Am I really? All I'm doing is inflating every method I learn/have to learn. So yes, I generate a ton more work, but seen from a knowledge point-of-view, it's the same.

You can see the progress on my git-hub page, and I will post screenshots when content appear in-game.

Hope to see some feedback, and post ideas, lots of ideas. I want this mod to feel good in FTB eventually, and the best way to do that is to adapt ideas from the community. Don't demand that your feature will be used though, that will just make it more unlikely. :)

All pushed commits should be playable, but as for any commit below v0.1.0a, there is no content available in-game.

Changelog:

Spoiler

Hippiecraft Community, since 2012.

Forum, Twitch, Youtube, Twitter, Planet Minecraft, Steam, Website

Contact us by e-mail: mail@hippiecraft.net | Support: support@hippiecraft.net


#2
ZL123

ZL123

    Me.

  • Administrators
  • 2079 posts
  • Location:Not somewhere where people say a fake location to try to be funny
  • IGN:ZL123
  • Modpack:Private Pack
Those are a lot of elements.

Also, I think you only use 'net.hippiecraft' if you have a website called 'hippiecraft.net'.
Great mod!

-ZL123
Hope I helped!

YT: http://youtube.com/ZL234
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZL234


#3
Hippieshaman

Hippieshaman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Hippiecraft HQ
  • Modpack:FTB Unleashed

Those are a lot of elements.

Also, I think you only use 'net.hippiecraft' if you have a website called 'hippiecraft.net'.
Great mod!

I do own that domain.


Hippiecraft Community, since 2012.

Forum, Twitch, Youtube, Twitter, Planet Minecraft, Steam, Website

Contact us by e-mail: mail@hippiecraft.net | Support: support@hippiecraft.net


#4
ZER0-0

ZER0-0

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Planet Earth
  • Modpack:FTB Ultimate

Can you describe what you are trying to do? what will the mod do?


When in Trouble or in Doubt, Run in circles, Scream and Shout!


#5
Hippieshaman

Hippieshaman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Hippiecraft HQ
  • Modpack:FTB Unleashed

Can you describe what you are trying to do? what will the mod do?

I will, when I can. As I said earlier (maybe I didn't make it clear enough though): There will be no content available in the 0.0.x_ releases.

 

But here is a semi-correct battle-plan for upcoming releases:

 

0.0.2_ Add empty classes to all the 118 elements so they can be populated with code later

0.0.3_ Add elements basic raw properties (like conductivity for metals, instability for alkaline metals (reacts with water), etc. in the preinfo.txt files)

0.0.4_ Add texture files for all the elements and their states

0.0.5_ Add and populate config file for all block-ID's and item-ID's

0.0.6_ Add all the elements in block form, populating block-ID's

0.0.7_ Finish the rest of the elements solid states, populating item-ID's

0.0.8_ Add liquids and gases, populating block-ID's (flowing/still)

0.0.9_ Add recipes for all the states (Ore smelt to ingots, some ore drops nuggets, some elements require much higher temps, etc.)

0.0.10_ Add World-Gen

0.1.0_ Planned first alpha release

 

This "schedule" may and most likely will change though, but I think it should be quite accurate.

 

Edit, version scheme is (until "full release"):

 

0.0.x_ -> pre-alpha

0.x.y_ -> alpha

x.y.z_ -> beta


Hippiecraft Community, since 2012.

Forum, Twitch, Youtube, Twitter, Planet Minecraft, Steam, Website

Contact us by e-mail: mail@hippiecraft.net | Support: support@hippiecraft.net


#6
RZR0

RZR0

    Administrator

  • Operator
  • 1968 posts
  • IGN:RZR0
  • Modpack:Private Pack

I like where you're going with this :) I started a mod about a year back, which was also going to focus a lot of elemnts and stuff, but I never had the time to put much work in it. I'm probably going to pick it back up in the future, but I've got a simpler mod planned for the summer, which will eventually be integrated into it.



#7
Hippieshaman

Hippieshaman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Hippiecraft HQ
  • Modpack:FTB Unleashed

I like where you're going with this :) I started a mod about a year back, which was also going to focus a lot of elemnts and stuff, but I never had the time to put much work in it. I'm probably going to pick it back up in the future, but I've got a simpler mod planned for the summer, whihc will eventually be integrated into it.

My plan is to eventually split the core functions and the elements, making it modular. Then I can focus on making the core work excellent, and can at any time spit out a new "add-on" for my core.


Hippiecraft Community, since 2012.

Forum, Twitch, Youtube, Twitter, Planet Minecraft, Steam, Website

Contact us by e-mail: mail@hippiecraft.net | Support: support@hippiecraft.net


#8
RZR0

RZR0

    Administrator

  • Operator
  • 1968 posts
  • IGN:RZR0
  • Modpack:Private Pack

My plan is to eventually split the core functions and the elements, making it modular. Then I can focus on making the core work excellent, and can at any time spit out a new "add-on" for my core.

Do you mean making an actual core mod? Or just have the core in a separated package?



#9
ZL123

ZL123

    Me.

  • Administrators
  • 2079 posts
  • Location:Not somewhere where people say a fake location to try to be funny
  • IGN:ZL123
  • Modpack:Private Pack

I do own that domain.

Oh yeah. Heh. :P

 

0.0.10_ Add World-Gen

That looks like it's going to be a lot. O_o

 

Do you mean making an actual core mod? Or just have the core in a separated package?

I think he means making something like Buildcraft, which has a core Buildcraft and other child mods, but is actually just one mod to the regular old player.


-ZL123
Hope I helped!

YT: http://youtube.com/ZL234
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZL234


#10
Hippieshaman

Hippieshaman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Hippiecraft HQ
  • Modpack:FTB Unleashed

Do you mean making an actual core mod? Or just have the core in a separated package?

No, it won't alter the core of Forge or Minecraft, it's a core for my future mods/forks to go from. What I'm writing now is essentially just world-gen, blocks and ores. And the idea is that I can make any machine-themed child mod that depends on that core. I would always have the elements, but I can go from different angles to tackle what I'm actually gonna use them for.

 

ZL123; It's not so much to do, it's a lot of copy-paste, then alter values to match the new class.

 

Edit: ZL123, if you meant that there would be to many ore blocks in a chunk;

 

  • Some elements can't be in ore form due to their properties.
  • Not all elements will spawn in the Overworld. Some will be in the Nether and some in the End as well.
  • Some elements can't be harvested without the correct machines/knowledge(Child mod).
  • Most elements are biome dependent.

Hippiecraft Community, since 2012.

Forum, Twitch, Youtube, Twitter, Planet Minecraft, Steam, Website

Contact us by e-mail: mail@hippiecraft.net | Support: support@hippiecraft.net


#11
ZL123

ZL123

    Me.

  • Administrators
  • 2079 posts
  • Location:Not somewhere where people say a fake location to try to be funny
  • IGN:ZL123
  • Modpack:Private Pack

Edit: ZL123, if you meant that there would be to many ore blocks in a chunk;

  • Some elements can't be in ore form due to their properties.
  • Not all elements will spawn in the Overworld. Some will be in the Nether and some in the End as well.
  • Some elements can't be harvested without the correct machines/knowledge(Child mod).

Yeah, I did mean this. I guess there mightn't.

Is this mod supposed to be realistic or just randomness?


-ZL123
Hope I helped!

YT: http://youtube.com/ZL234
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZL234


#12
Hippieshaman

Hippieshaman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Hippiecraft HQ
  • Modpack:FTB Unleashed

Yeah, I did mean this. I guess there mightn't.

Is this mod supposed to be realistic or just randomness?

There will be some realism, like smelting and boiling temps, and some "randomness" like having some elements in ore form even though they don't exist in ore form in the real world.


  • ZL123 likes this

Hippiecraft Community, since 2012.

Forum, Twitch, Youtube, Twitter, Planet Minecraft, Steam, Website

Contact us by e-mail: mail@hippiecraft.net | Support: support@hippiecraft.net


#13
ZL123

ZL123

    Me.

  • Administrators
  • 2079 posts
  • Location:Not somewhere where people say a fake location to try to be funny
  • IGN:ZL123
  • Modpack:Private Pack

smelting and boiling temps

 

 

I sense something like TerraFirmaCraft.


-ZL123
Hope I helped!

YT: http://youtube.com/ZL234
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZL234


#14
Hippieshaman

Hippieshaman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Hippiecraft HQ
  • Modpack:FTB Unleashed

0.0.3_ is in the works now, done with the 0.0.2_ stage!

 

Passed 10.000 lines of code 19 June.


Hippiecraft Community, since 2012.

Forum, Twitch, Youtube, Twitter, Planet Minecraft, Steam, Website

Contact us by e-mail: mail@hippiecraft.net | Support: support@hippiecraft.net


#15
ZL123

ZL123

    Me.

  • Administrators
  • 2079 posts
  • Location:Not somewhere where people say a fake location to try to be funny
  • IGN:ZL123
  • Modpack:Private Pack

It's going well. :)


-ZL123
Hope I helped!

YT: http://youtube.com/ZL234
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZL234


#16
RZR0

RZR0

    Administrator

  • Operator
  • 1968 posts
  • IGN:RZR0
  • Modpack:Private Pack

0.0.3_ is in the works now, done with the 0.0.2_ stage!

 

Passed 10.000 lines of code 19 June.

Empty classes and comments aren't code :P



#17
ZL123

ZL123

    Me.

  • Administrators
  • 2079 posts
  • Location:Not somewhere where people say a fake location to try to be funny
  • IGN:ZL123
  • Modpack:Private Pack

Empty classes and comments aren't code :P

We're getting there! XD


-ZL123
Hope I helped!

YT: http://youtube.com/ZL234
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZL234


#18
RZR0

RZR0

    Administrator

  • Operator
  • 1968 posts
  • IGN:RZR0
  • Modpack:Private Pack

We're getting there! XD

Don't forget about GlowTools :P I'm hoping to present my own first (public) mod soon ^_^

#19
ZL123

ZL123

    Me.

  • Administrators
  • 2079 posts
  • Location:Not somewhere where people say a fake location to try to be funny
  • IGN:ZL123
  • Modpack:Private Pack

Don't forget about GlowTools :P I'm hoping to present my own first (public) mod soon ^_^

Yeah, well GlowTools still has that GUI bug that I can't figure out. Should I just release it without that display?


-ZL123
Hope I helped!

YT: http://youtube.com/ZL234
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZL234


#20
RZR0

RZR0

    Administrator

  • Operator
  • 1968 posts
  • IGN:RZR0
  • Modpack:Private Pack

Yeah, well GlowTools still has that GUI bug that I can't figure out. Should I just release it without that display?

No rush :P



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users